Stuff you need to know | Breakthrough Funding

Stuff you need to know

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Casting the net

Our responsibility to tidy up the planet doesn’t stop when we hit the ozone layer

Read more
Monday, September 17, 2018

Enter a new reality

 

VR is proving a big hit in the manufacturing industry, but AR appears to have the edge

Read more
Wednesday, September 5, 2018

Old school rules

Few would argue that modern technology doesn’t have a place in the classroom, but how about in the school bag?

Read more
Thursday, August 30, 2018

Flying start

Drones could swoop in to deliver a morning boost without even being asked

Read more
Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Flex appeal

Technology is turning flexible working arrangements into a strong workplace trend

Read more
Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Shop and go

Sainsbury’s is trialling a ‘till-free’ store where you can scan and pay with an app

Read more
Thursday, August 9, 2018

I, Robot

Will we always value character over AI functionality?

Read more
Thursday, August 2, 2018

No more droning on

The fun could be over as the Government proposes a ban on children using heavyweight drones

Read more
Thursday, July 26, 2018

Generation Gap

Far from plunging teenagers into a seedy world of depravity, it seems that tech is turning our young people into Generation Sensible

Read more
Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Going into orbit

News that Scotland will host the UK’s first spaceport is great for our stellar satellite industry

Read more
Monday, July 16, 2018

Back to nature

Plastics have been getting a bad rep, but young minds are finding creative uses for the controversial material

Read more
Thursday, July 12, 2018

You cannot be serious!

Technology has been getting on the score sheet during a remarkable summer of sport

Read more
Wednesday, July 4, 2018

All in a fizz

As a CO2 shortage threatens our favourite summer beverages, innovators are already working to save the day.

Read more
Friday, June 29, 2018

Giving up gracefully

Sometimes you just have to know when you’re beaten

Read more
Thursday, June 21, 2018

Looking for innovation grants?

How to access UK funding and innovation grants for small business

Read more
Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Another great Breakthrough

Time to pick up your copy of our innovation-focused magazine

Read more
Tuesday, June 12, 2018

What’s in a word?

The insurance industry is warning car manufacturers to spell out the reality of autonomous features

Read more
Wednesday, June 6, 2018

The Brits are coming

Our entrepreneurial spirit is pushing the UK to the forefront of engineering

Read more
Monday, June 4, 2018

Out of this world

Will we really be living and working on the Moon within 100 years?

Read more
Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Rescue Me

Drones aren’t just good for grocery deliveries and aerial photography – now they’re saving lives too

Read more
Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Healthy practices

Remote working is on the rise, but so is the number of people showing up to the office when they’re ill

Read more
Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Mind the gap

New technologies like robotics can boost productivity, but it’s not currently a level playing field

Read more
Thursday, May 3, 2018

May the Force be with you

With yet more thrilling news to celebrate, we’re feeling like real tax Jedis

Read more
Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Grasping at straws

Banning plastic straws might be a smart environmental move, but critics say it’s not that simple

Read more
Thursday, April 19, 2018

Good news galore!

We spend most of our time promoting other people’s innovations, so it’s lovely to have our own exciting stories to share

Read more
Thursday, April 12, 2018

Rise of the machines

Metal Mickeys have been making headlines for a variety of interesting reasons

Read more
Wednesday, April 4, 2018

Rise of the silver surfer

The Grey Pound is an online force to be reckoned with

Read more
Thursday, March 29, 2018

Nation of innovation

Investments in the future of the UK’s advanced manufacturing industry have been stacking up this month

Read more
Thursday, March 22, 2018

Making our mark

We’ve signed up to help tackle climate change with The Planet Mark – will you join us?

Read more
Thursday, March 15, 2018

Reach for the stars

Paying tribute to one of the greatest innovative minds of all time

Read more
Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Safety first

New technologies are harnessing the power of IoT to save lives

Read more
Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Tough love

It’s very easy to fall in your love with your product, but is it destiny or is your romance doomed to fail?

Read more
Thursday, February 1, 2018

Meet the tooth fairy

New miniaturised tech is granting manufacturers’ data-based wishes

Read more
Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Plastic not-so fantastic

Iceland wants to dump non-environmentally friendly packaging in five years – surely there’s an innovation that can help?

Read more
Thursday, January 4, 2018

Resolving to change

Fortunately, the world’s innovators never lack the motivation to make things happen

Read more