Stuff you need to know | Breakthrough Funding

Stuff you need to know

Thursday, March 15, 2018

Reach for the stars

Paying tribute to one of the greatest innovative minds of all time

Read more
Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Safety first

New technologies are harnessing the power of IoT to save lives

Read more
Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Tough love

It’s very easy to fall in your love with your product, but is it destiny or is your romance doomed to fail?

Read more
Thursday, February 1, 2018

Meet the tooth fairy

New miniaturised tech is granting manufacturers’ data-based wishes

Read more
Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Plastic not-so fantastic

Iceland wants to dump non-environmentally friendly packaging in five years – surely there’s an innovation that can help?

Read more
Thursday, January 4, 2018

Resolving to change

Fortunately, the world’s innovators never lack the motivation to make things happen

Read more
Wednesday, December 20, 2017

What’s the toy story?

As the cute Cozmo heads for Christmas stockings everywhere, we attempt to predict the next techie toy trends

Read more
Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Facing the future

Now that Facebook has launched a messaging app specifically for children, online security will become an even bigger priority for the tech world. 

Read more
Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Innovation Nation

All eyes are on the ideas people, now that innovation is being recognised as central to the UK’s industrial strategy

Read more
Thursday, November 9, 2017

Road to somewhere

Electric vehicles and driverless cars move up a gear as innovators press ahead with their plans to revolutionise our highways.

Read more
Thursday, October 26, 2017

Time to save the world

Innovation is more important than ever as the need to abandon fossil fuels takes on new urgency

Read more
Wednesday, October 11, 2017

One for the album

Can AI ever really decide which family moments should be snapped or discarded?


Read more
Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Too late to apologise?

Sorry seems to be the easiest word for Uber, but the debate rages about whether innovation mistakes can be forgiven.

Read more
Thursday, September 14, 2017

What a Breakthrough!

It’s our turn to shine as a major national award scheme tips us for the top

Read more
Friday, September 1, 2017

Your chance to shine

Calling all food and drink innovators – The FoodTalk Awards are back!

Read more
Thursday, August 17, 2017

What’s in a name?

A stylish moniker can make your product stand out from the crowd – but not forever


Read more
Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Food for thought

If you’re feeding the nation with your innovation, you could be due some Government support

Read more
Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Not Just a Pretty Face

Rumours suggest facial recognition will replace fingerprint scanning 

Read more
Friday, June 16, 2017

Back to the Future

From early mobile phones to Pac-Man, retro is all the rage – but can the past spark fresh inspiration?

Read more
Friday, May 26, 2017

Best In Class

It’s official – taking tech into the classroom makes learning more fun

Read more
Friday, May 12, 2017

Speculate to innovate

There’s more to innovation than just a great idea

Read more
Thursday, April 13, 2017

Playing Mind Games

For app developers, a great idea with strong appeal just isn’t enough – Silicon Valley wants to ensure you’re well and truly hooked


Read more
Friday, March 31, 2017

It's not you, it's us

So, the EU has received its Dear John letter… What will the Brexit break-up mean for UK innovation?

Read more
Friday, March 17, 2017


Have driverless cars hit a dead-end?


Read more
Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Keeping the dream alive

They say that hope springs eternal, which is why we’re delighted to see the Sinclair C5 back for another spin around the track.

Read more
Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Old Dogs New Tech

Are older people the tech whizz kids of the future?

Read more
Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Broaden Your Boardroom

You remember 90s pop band Space and their hit Female of the Species, right? No? Well, the lyrics went “the female of the species are more techy than the male”

Read more
Thursday, December 22, 2016

Rocket Man

Elon Musk: not just a good name for an eau de toilette, but also a revolutionary in rocket science!

Read more
Monday, December 12, 2016

Virtually Better Booze

The oldest beer recipe known to man is from Ancient Sumeria, around 1800BC. Older than both whisky and wine, in essence beer hasn’t really changed that much in over 3,800 years.

Read more
Wednesday, November 30, 2016


How much would you trust a robot to carry out your surgery?

Read more
Thursday, November 10, 2016

Teching it Lying Down

Mattresses are quite the tech innovation business these days. Not only are we talking about their materials in a more tech minded way, but recent marketing seems to be aiming for a more tech savvy audience.

Read more
Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Eating Clean Oceans

A disgusting 80% of it ends up in the ocean and it's about time we all started taking responsibility for our own plastic use. A brewing company and an ad agency have come together with an innovative idea to take their first step towards cleaner oceans.

Read more
Thursday, September 15, 2016

R&D tax claims on rise but government must do more

More UK companies are claiming research and development tax credits, but too many innovators are still unaware of the opportunity.

Read more
Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Dope Tech or Tech Dopes

Technology - the new dirty drug on the Olympic scene.

Read more
Thursday, July 28, 2016

Say Bore Off To Bore Out

How to combat a professional zombie outbreak!

Read more