Innovation stories | Breakthrough Funding

Innovation stories

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Bringing water to sub-Saharan Africa

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of an amazing irrigation system

View story
Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Horsing around

MANUFACTURING - The story of how to make your horse comfortable

View story
Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Mirror Mirror

MANUFACTURING - The story of clear reflections in small spaces

View story
Thursday, October 5, 2017

Allergen-free food for all the family

FOOD TECH - The story of making meals completely free of all allergens

View story
Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Crafty Brewers

MANUFACTURING - The story of getting great beer on tap

View story
Friday, September 15, 2017

Aggregator aggravation down at the Panda Express

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of ordering sweet and sour prawn balls from your armchair

View story
Friday, September 8, 2017

No animals have been harmed

MANUFACTURING - The story of an amazing woman committed to veganism

View story
Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Wash The Bad Right Out Of Your Hair

MANUFACTURING - The story of cruelty free and natural cleaning.

View story
Friday, September 1, 2017

Georgian pipe palava

ENGINEERING - The story of the Industrial Internet of Things

View story
Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Sorting Sorted

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of making multilingual sorting a breeze

View story
Friday, August 11, 2017

Red Leather Yellow Leather

MANUFACTURING - The story of making rubbish fabulous

View story
Thursday, August 3, 2017

Staying Out of the Sea

ENGINEERING - The story of maintaining structural integrity when making a big hole in a sea wall

View story
Wednesday, August 2, 2017

Risky Business

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT – The story of predicting risky outcomes

View story
Friday, July 28, 2017

Eyesore The Sign

MANUFACTURING - The story of creating clear signs.

View story
Saturday, July 22, 2017

Drone On

MANUFACTURING – The story of crash proof drones

View story
Tuesday, July 18, 2017

More Fore, Less Chore

ENGINEERING - The story of a modern golfer's desires.

View story
Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Sending castles in the sky

ENGINEERING - The story of packing a model building into airline hold luggage

View story
Friday, June 30, 2017

A whiter shade of pale

ENGINEERING - The story of trying to develop a toner cartridge that prints in white (yes, white)

View story
Thursday, June 15, 2017

Driving down your energy bills

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of battling against the system to help you get cheaper energy prices

View story
Friday, June 2, 2017

Sight unseen

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of developing invisible watermark technology

View story
Friday, May 26, 2017

Getting into hot water

ENGINEERING - The story of extending the life of water heating systems

View story
Monday, May 15, 2017

The end of getting your wires crossed

MANUFACTURING - The story of getting rid of spaghetti piles of wires and cables

View story
Friday, April 28, 2017

Keeping your powder dry

MANUFACTURING - The story of keeping your powder dry and making sure its thermally insulated

View story
Thursday, April 13, 2017

Coming on strong

PHARMA - The story of supporting the next generation of athletes and medal winners

View story
Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Taking on fuel

ENGINEERING - The story of developing structures that can survive in all weathers

View story
Monday, April 3, 2017

Left holding the baby

MANUFACTURING - The story of a patented car seat to minimise potential breathing problems

View story
Wednesday, March 29, 2017

How to sell more drinks at half time

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of showing your ad for half price beer to a captive audience

View story
Wednesday, March 22, 2017

From the horse's mouth

ENGINEERING - The story of ensuring non-ruminant herbivores (horses) get the best grub

View story
Friday, March 10, 2017

Put your foot down

ENGINEERING - The story of making track cars go even faster than they do already (scary)

View story
Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Much to learn you still have

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of getting the best price for that Star Wars Yoda poster

View story
Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Stopping the wheels coming off

ENGINEERING - The story of how important it is to check your nuts (wheel nuts obviously)

View story
Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Barking up the right tree

PHARMA - The story of collecting molecules from yew trees to make cancer drugs.

View story
Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Giving inefficient refrigeration the cold shoulder

ECO ENERGY - The story of making aircon units and fridges better for the environment.

View story
Thursday, January 12, 2017

Everything but the kitchen sink

MANUFACTURING - The story of making the most beautiful kitchens with a computer.

View story
Thursday, January 5, 2017

Helping small charities get their fair share

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of payroll giving and creating a level playing field for smaller charities.

View story
Monday, January 2, 2017

Toys for boys (and girls too of course)

MANUFACTURING - The story of throwing away too many plastic soldiers.

View story
Thursday, December 22, 2016

Helping deputies support their families

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of helping court appointed deputies account for their decisions.

View story
Thursday, December 15, 2016

Making something invisible

MANUFACTURING - The story of producing a door that looks as though it has no frame at all

View story
Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Hello. Hello. Can you hear me? Hello.

PROCESS DEVELOPMENT - The story of speeding up the elimination of not-spots.

View story
Monday, December 5, 2016

Ditching the dog ends

PHARMA - The story of developing and producing an eLiquid without nicotine and propylene glycol.

View story
Friday, December 2, 2016

Lightening the load

ENGINEERING - The story of reducing LGV fuel consumption

View story
Thursday, November 24, 2016

Spread the word

FOOD TECH - The story of a spread that doesn’t contain a drop of oil or a grain of sugar

View story
Thursday, November 17, 2016

A sky full of stars and an unmanned plane

ENGINEERING - The story of a plane that can fly for two years without a pilot.

View story
Friday, November 11, 2016

Turn it off, then turn it on again

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of an IT support tracking and management system

View story
Thursday, November 3, 2016

Electricity elasticity

ECO ENERGY - The story of creating a whole new utility business model

View story
Monday, October 31, 2016

Keep young and beautiful

PHARMA - The story of making face cream more absorbent

View story
Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Plug and play

ENGINEERING - The story of improving efficiency on assembly lines

View story
Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Tunnel vision

ENGINEERING - The story of a vision to reduce the risk of tunnel operations

View story
Monday, October 10, 2016

Get on your bike and make me a coffee

ENGINEERING - The story of producing hot coffee without electricity

View story
Thursday, September 29, 2016

Touchy feely

ENGINEERING - The story of increasing the geographical accessibility of an expensive product

View story
Thursday, September 22, 2016

Wherefore art thou Romeo?

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of finding anyone on the planet

View story
Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Weaving a net is better than praying for fish

MANUFACTURING - The story of making beautiful weaving looms, not just for netting fish though

View story
Friday, August 19, 2016

Fashioning networks for creatives

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of creating complex matching algorithms

View story
Thursday, August 11, 2016

Even Heston hasn't cracked it

FOOD TECH - The story of popping pearls in your mouth

View story
Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Waste not, want not

ECO ENERGY - The story of improving the efficiency of energy plants

View story
Tuesday, August 2, 2016

Tapping into the biggest employer in the world

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of raising money for our hospitals and surgeries

View story
Thursday, July 28, 2016

купить виллу что, теперь

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of a website in a dozen languages

View story
Saturday, July 23, 2016

O Brother, where art thou?

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of crowd control in a muddy field

View story
Friday, June 24, 2016

Running out of juice

PROCESS DEVELOPMENT - The life and death story of medical devices and making sure the batteries don’t run down.

View story
Thursday, June 16, 2016

Run rabbit run

MANUFACTURING - The story of reducing pest damage without harming the culprit!

View story
Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Hacking off the hackers

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of how easy it is to hack your mobile phone

View story
Friday, June 3, 2016

Trading standards

FIN TECH - The story of making the bond market more transparent

View story
Thursday, May 26, 2016

My insurance is out of date - waaaah

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story about forgetting to renew your insurance

View story
Thursday, May 19, 2016

Bypassing the online auction scams

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of selling second hand furniture to your Mum’s best friend’s cousin

View story
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Set in concrete

ENGINEERING - The story of saving lives in the building industry

View story
Thursday, April 28, 2016

Water water everywhere and not a drop to drink

ENGINEERING - The story of the most precious resource of all

View story
Friday, April 22, 2016

Stalking Lady GaGa and Wayne Rooney

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of data mining on a scale that will blow your mind

View story
Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Spotting a rogue trader

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of tracking the next Edward Snowden

View story
Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Retail therapy is officially global

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of shopping from a distant land 

View story
Thursday, March 31, 2016

Tracking driver behaviour and their fuel consumption

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT - The story of intelligent fuel management and cutting driver insurance costs

View story